21 DCPS students earn 2022 KMEA All-State Honors

December 25, 2021 | 12:07 am

Updated December 24, 2021 | 11:10 am

DCPS Coordinator of Fine and Performing Arts Karen Alward

Daviess County Public Schools had 21 student musicians selected for the 2022 Kentucky Music Educators Association All-State Ensembles. In February, KMEA will hold honors ensembles in conjunction with its annual conference in Louisville.

This is the first year back in person for the choral ensembles after they were performed virtually last year due to COVID-19.

“Words cannot describe our pride in the resilience and effort of our students who auditioned for these ensembles. A year of on and off virtual and in-person training has made it difficult for our performing artists and musicians to find motivation at times,” DCPS Coordinator of Fine and Performing Arts Karen Alward said.

For Candy Miller, Choral Director at Daviess County High School, the 10 choir students selected was the most to be accepted into KMEA All-State Choirs in her 13 years of teaching.

Along with the choir program, the high school’s Band of Pride had three students honored with the selection of the KMEA Concert Band.

The selected students from Daviess County High School include:

  • Ella Henry — district highest in Sopranos with a perfect score of 100
  • Natalie Moss — district second-highest Soprano score
  • Dana Worth 
  • Hannah Boehman — district highest in Altos
  • Mia Monanteras — district third-highest Alto score
  • Nathan Trogden — district highest in Tenors
  • Wes Hamlet — district second-highest in Tenors
  • Adam Messer
  • Tommy Dent
  • Bryson Rhineburger
  • Andy Montgomery — euphonium
  • Austin Mills — bassoon
  • Emma Stephens — horn, first alternate

Apollo High School had two vocalists and one instrumental musician selected for KMEA. They include: 

  • Braxton Powers
  • Gabriel Schoonover
  • Holly Whittaker — orchestra

Outside of the high school level musicians, DCPS had five students from Tamarack Elementary School selected for the Children’s Chorus, including:

  • Avalyn Fulkerson
  • Haven Gammon
  • Ja Ing
  • Kennedy Miller
  • Dylan Rhodes

December 25, 2021 | 12:07 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like