AHS Spotlight Players presenting ‘13 Ways to Screw Up Your College Interview’

May 8, 2022 | 12:06 am

Updated May 7, 2022 | 6:11 pm

AHS Spotlight Players | Photo provided

Apollo High School’s Spotlight Players will perform “13 Ways to Screw Up Your College Interview” by Ian McWethy at 6 p.m. Monday at Theatre Workshop of Owensboro’s Empress Theatre.

Tickets are $5 and are available at the door. The theatre is located at 418 Frederica St. 

The program description says: “When two college recruiters at a prestigious university need to fill one last spot to keep their jobs, 13 eccentric, dimwitted and slightly insane high school seniors are eager to come in for an interview. What seems like a simple task turns into a nightmare when the applicants turn out to be a reality TV star, a practicing vampire, an amateur magician, and others that are much, much worse. Each applicant’s interview hilariously illustrates what NOT to do at a college interview.”

This show is being produced by special arrangements with Playscripts Inc. AHS theatre director April Berry expressed thanks to TWO for use of their performance space. During the renovations at Apollo this year, the Performing Arts Department has had to rely on community partners in the arts to produce shows. Owensboro Community and Technical College allowed Apollo’s Blue House Players to perform on their stage in March. The AHS Advanced Musical Theatre class will also present a showcase performance at OCTC’s Blandford Hall at 5 p.m. Wednesday, May 11. That performance is open free to the public.

“We would not be able to perform this year without our theatre friends,” Berry said. “The theatre community in Owensboro/Daviess County is wonderful in that we all support each other’s endeavors. Several of my Apollo students have participated in community shows at TWO, OCTC and Kentucky Wesleyan College this year. Our theatre arts community is so very welcoming and supportive.”

Members of the Spotlight Players, as pictured above, include Soe Nai Htoo, Jakob Gray, Aiden Young, Tristan Troutman, Cameron Ashton, Rajaiha Peay, Kacie Morris, Richmond Holinde, Tori Wiggins, Haley Burns, Alana Ratliff, Summer Queen, Marli Mize, Hillary Hicks, Bae Reh, Loou Paw, Samantha Bellows-Rodriguez, Jenna Quinn, and Rose Murphy; as well as directors Oakley Pollard, Toby Snead, April Berry, Paige McDaniel, and Lillie Self-Miller.

May 8, 2022 | 12:06 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like