DCPS instructors selected to serve as state Math Teacher Leaders

August 2, 2020 | 12:07 am

Updated August 1, 2020 | 10:21 pm

Photos provided

Daviess County Public Schools teachers Brittney Brasher and Catie Bailey have been selected by the Kentucky Center for Mathematics (KCM) as Kentucky Math Teacher Leaders (KyMTL). The group was selected for the program after completing a rigorous application and interview process.

These select mathematics leaders were brought together by the KCM to collaborate with like-minded educators from across the Commonwealth of Kentucky to hone and expand their skills in leadership, mathematics content and pedagogy.

Brasher is a graduate of Western Kentucky University (undergrad in elementary education in 2005) and Oakland City University (Masters of arts in teaching in 2009). She earned National Board Certification in 2019 as a middle childhood generalist.


She has completed her 15th year teaching at Sorgho Elementary School in 4th- and 5th-grade math and language arts. She and her colleagues have worked diligently to vet math curriculums that provide their students with the essential mathematics skills necessary for success.

Bailey is entering her 10th year teaching at Sorgho Elementary School. She currently teaches 5th-grade self-contained, although has always had a passion for mathematics. She enjoys seeing students learn and thrive in mathematics and master the standards. It is her goal to help students fill their gaps and gain confidence in math.

Bailey said she looks forward to being a KYMTL as it will allow her to share her passion with other educators and continue to grow as a math teacher. 

The Kentucky Center for Mathematics is a leader in the evolution of mathematics teaching and learning across the state of Kentucky.

August 2, 2020 | 12:07 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like

Discussion about this article