Deer Park academic team claims 3rd straight Regional Governor’s Cup

April 4, 2021 | 12:08 am

Updated April 3, 2021 | 11:47 pm

DPES academic team

The Deer Park Elementary School academic team recently claimed their third consecutive Regional Governor’s Cup, persevering through an unusual school schedule, quarantines, and an uncertain competition.

The Governor’s Cup is an academic competition where students compete against one another in eight events — five of which are assessments (Math, Science, Social Studies, Language Arts, and Arts and Humanities), with the others being Quick Recall, Future Problem Solving, and Writing (called Composition).

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, everything was performed virtually.


While knowledge is a key component to winning, there is much more that goes into a victory according to team sponsor Alex Haynes.

“As far as what it takes to win, I would say it really comes down to drive, passion, competitiveness, and support,” she said. “Support is the most critical aspect in my opinion.”

She said the team members help each other get better in their areas, adding that many parents get involved and help their children study at home. She also relies on the help of coaches Sarah Martin and Alanna Robinson, and said coaches from College View Middle School offer collaboration.

In a year of uncertainty, Haynes said being able to compete was already a blessing — and coming away champions was special.

“It was meaningful because our kids really wanted to take part even though they knew that the schedule and way we would practice was going to be constantly changing with the ever-changing health and safety protocols,” she said. “These kids really do love to learn. Our kids persevered, and, in my opinion, were able to get some sense of normalcy during quite unusual times.”

Haynes added, “Win or lose, I feel like this experience says a lot about the bright future of each and every one of my kids. They learn how to persevere, work together, trust one another, teach others, and so much more.”

Students on the academic team include: John Rue, Caden Embry, Wyatt Gaddis, Grace Bullock, Nate Mattingly, Hunter Haynes, Kash Lanham, Sierra Adkins, Kyla Midkiff, Hudson Decker, Addy Dennis, Fiona Baughn, Bella Coombs, Scott Burgan, Mary Htoo, Zoe Carter, Jon Andrew Ball, Kelsey Gleason, Mallory Albers, Reed Burton.

April 4, 2021 | 12:08 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like

Discussion about this article