Apollo’s Dunn lone local as Kentucky/Indiana All-Star Game makes stop at Sportscenter

June 11, 2021 | 12:02 am

Updated June 10, 2021 | 11:18 pm

By the Owensboro Times

Apollo’s Amber Dunn will get to play in front of her city one more time Friday as the annual Kentucky/Indiana All-Star Game is back at the Owensboro Sportscenter. 

Doors open at 5 p.m. with the girl’s game starting at 6 p.m. and the boy’s game set to tip at 8 p.m. On Saturday, the teams meet again at Southport Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

The marquee matchup returns this season after Covid canceled last year’s game. 

The Mr. and Miss Basketball winners from both states will be competing this weekend.

Kentucky Mr. Basketball Ben Johnson representing Lexington Catholic one more time. Johnson is taking his talents to Bellarmine next season. Kentucky Miss Basketball, Franklin County’s Brooklynn Miles, will be attending Tennessee next season.

Indiana’s Mr. Basketball Caleb Furst hails from Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian and will be attending Purdue next year while Lawrence North’s Jayla Smith will also be playing for Purdue in the fall.

Dunn, who’s attending Lindsey Wilson in the fall, is excited about playing in the game.

“My thoughts going in to tomorrow are play my hardest and leave it all on the floor every possession,” she said. “I know I’m playing with very skilled players and everyone is so versatile.”

Dunn is already familiar with her new squad as they’ve hit the court already in preparation for the game.

“Practices have been great,” she said. “Everyone comes in and works extremely hard. We are all very competitive. I feel we gel together as well which is a great thing. The coaching staff is very knowledgeable and I have learned so many new things from them as well.”

Dunn said this weekends games will definitely prepare her for the next level.

“I’m playing with the best of the best,” she said. “In college the game level improves so it will help me get a feel of the type of players I’ll be playing against in college.”

Doors open at 5 p.m. with the girls game starting at 6 p.m. and the boys game to follow.

Kentucky/Indiana Rosters
Kentucky Boys All-Stars
Noah Dumas, McCracken County (Undecided)
Jaquias Franklin, Elizabethtown (Undecided)
Jacobi Huddleston, Bowling Green (Undecided)
Dashawn Jackson, Frederick Douglass (Eastern Kentucky)
Ben Johnson, Lexington Catholic (Bellarmine)
Sekou Kalle, DeSales (Akron)
Mason Moore, Rowan County (University of Kentucky – baseball)
Ayden Mudd, St. Xavier (Bellarmine)
Devin Perry, DeSales (West Virginia State)
Cameron Pope, Male (Jacksonville State)
Sam Vinson, Highlands (Northern Kentucky)
Darius Washington, Fern Creek (New Orleans)

Kentucky Girls All-Stars
Lara Akers, Danville (Undecided)
Macey Blevins, Wayne County (Western Kentucky University)
Amber Dunn, Apollo (Lindsey Wilson)
Tiarra East, Butler (Temple)
Aubrey Hill, Russell (Denison)
Amelia Hodges, Bethlehem (Lindsey Wilson College)
Marie Kiefer, Bishop Brossart (Ball State)
Brooklyn Miles, Franklin County (Tennessee)
Harley Paynter, Boyd County (Tennessee Tech)
Taylor Price, Central (Undecided)
Alexa Smiddy, Southwestern (Trevecca Nazarene)
Ella Thompson, Bethlehem (Tennessee-Martin)
Dynastee White, Butler (Georgetown College)

Indiana Boys All-Stars
Shamar Avance, Lawrence North (Undecided)
Brooks Barnhizer, Lafayette Jeff (Northwestern)
Jalen Blackmon, Marion (Grand Canyon)
Luke Brown, Blackford (Stetson)
Caleb Furst, Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian (Purdue)
Luke Goode, Homestead (Illinois)
Kooper Jacobi, Silver Creek (Toledo)
Trey Kaufman-Renn, Silver Creek (Purdue)
J.R. Konieczny, South Bend St. Joseph (Notre Dame)
Blake Sisley, Heritage Hills (Evansville)
Jayden Taylor, Perry Meridian (Butler)
Pierce Thomas, Brownsburg (Butler)
Brian Waddell, Carmel (Undecided)
Blake Wesley, South Bend Riley (Notre Dame)

Indiana Girls All-Stars
Ally Becki, Brownsburg (Ball State)
Madelyn Bischoff, Roncalli (Undecided)
Courtney Blakely, Hammond Noll (Undecided)
Katie Burton, Fishers (St. John’s)
Kaitlyn Costner, Penn (Ohio State)
*Bridget Dunn, Carmel (Kent State)
Sydney Jaynes, Trinity Lutheran (Butler)
Chloe McKnight, Bedford North Lawrence (St. Francis)
Meg Newman, North Central (Arizona State)
Vanessa Shafford, Linton-Stockton (Southern Indiana)
Brynn Shoup-Hill, Goshen (Dayton)
Jayla Smith, Lawrence North (Purdue)
Trinity Thompson, Michigan City (Northern Kentucky)
Ariana Wiggins, Heritage Christian (Michigan)

*Carmel forward Bridget Dunn was picked for the Indiana Girls’ All Stars but will be unable to play due to injury.

June 11, 2021 | 12:02 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like