Local band students selected for All-District High School Band concert

January 18, 2019 | 3:00 am

Updated January 17, 2019 | 11:01 pm

In November 2018, over 300 students from western Kentucky auditioned to participate in the 2nd District Band Directors Association All-District High School Band.

Selected students were instructed by guest conductors and worked on music with band students from western Kentucky.

The All-District High School Band gave a concert on Jan. 12 at the Glema Mahr Center for the Arts in Madisonville.

Daviess County High School 

Daviess County District Symphonic Band | Photo submitted

Daviess County Symphonic Band, pictured left to right: Sydney Peckinpaugh, Colleen Turner, Olivia Brown, Katherine Alward, Sally Lott, Isaac Gray, Chandler Patton, McKenzi Clark, Lucas Ruckdeschel and Lauren Tadlock. The symphonic band was under the direction of Dr. Ben Hawkins, director of bands at Transylvania University.

Members of the Daviess County Concert Band | Photo submitted

Daviess County Concert Band, pictured left to right: Back row: Jacob Nugent, Ben Robinson, Andy Montgomery. Front row: Emma Smith, Maggie Bacon, Alli Burgan, Maggie Vooris. Not pictured: Brody Lynn. The concert band was under the direction of William Kite, director of bands at Henry Clay High School in Lexington.

Owensboro Catholic High School

Owensboro Catholic All District Band | Photo submitted

Row 1: Jack Calhoun, Brandon Moore, Willow Matthews, Jessenia Garcia. Row 2: Molly Trogden, Audrey Schultz, Carter Osborne. Row 3: Cambron Johnson, Holly Wilkerson, Bryson Brown. Row 4: Kendall Johnson, Sam Hines, Thomas Gonzalez, Jessica Higdon. Row 5: Johnathan Ford, Spencer Osborne, Alexis Gehring, Jake Hines. Row 6: Theresa Lattus, Paul Pfeifer, Cecilia Broxon, Ross Fleming

Apollo High School

Apollo All District Band students. | Photo submitted
Pictured left to right: Cade Haimes, Lindsey Ostria, Emma O’Bryan, Elizabeth Filback, Benjamin Royalty
Owensboro High School had 25 students selected this year to the All-District Bands.
“This is the most students to be selected from OHS since my arrival in 2013,” said OHS band director Abe Barr. “As our band program continues to grow in numbers and quality, our students continue to thrive on opportunities to showcase their individual talents.”
OHS students: Trent Alsup, John Barker, Hayden Billingsley, Nick Bosley, Lakaylia Catlett, Anna Clements, Kaeli Colbert, Kaitlyn Cooper, Emily Frost, Dylan Haire, Luke Ison, Joshua Jones, Abby Kellum, Dylan Kirk, Kris, Luck, Tate McDonald, Ethan Midgette, Chris Paradissis, Ernesto Percy, Claire Rouch, Easton Roush, Marley Simon, Michael Solis, Jasmine Sturgeon, Anastasia Winstead

January 18, 2019 | 3:00 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like