22 women named nominees for ATHENA award

February 16, 2024 | 12:11 am

Updated February 16, 2024 | 12:29 am

Graphic by Owensboro Times

There are a record 22 nominees for the 26th Girls Inc. ATHENA Award, which is presented annually to someone who empowers women, strives to better the community and has achieved excellence in their profession. There will also be a Legacy Award winner, which honors a woman posthumously for the contributions she made to society.

This year’s award luncheon will be held on March 26 at the Owensboro Convention Center. Tickets are $100 per person or $800 for a table of 8, and they may be reserved by calling 270-684-7833 or online here.

This year’s nominees include:

  • Carol Adkins, Physical Therapist and Fresh Start for Women Co-Founder
  • Barb Birgy, WBKR Radio Announcer, Promotions Director and Christmas Wish Executive Director
  • Anita Burnette, Interim Superintendent for Owensboro Public Schools
  • Kaye Castlen, Retired Administrator at Valley School
  • Suzanne Craig, Public Health Administrator at Green River District Health Department
  • Christina Dalton, District Social Worker at Daviess County Public Schools
  • Dr. Wanda Figueroa, President and CEO of RiverValley Behavioral Health
  • Jana Beth Francis, Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning at Daviess County Public Schools
  • Brionna Greer, CEO at Breaking the Cycle
  • Crashaunya Hartsfield, Owner of Hart and Soul Beverages
  • Kathleen Hayden McFadden, Owner of 3rd Chance Auto
  • Megan Dunn-Jackson, Systems Advocacy Specialist at New Beginnings Sexual Assault Support Services
  • Rebecca McQueen-Ruark, Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students at Kentucky Wesleyan College
  • Blaire Neighbors, Program Director, Behavior Specialist at Puzzle Pieces
  • Amanda Owen, Founder/Executive Director at Puzzle Pieces
  • Judge Lisa Payne Jones, Daviess Circuit Court, Div. II/ Chief Circuit Judge for Daviess County
  • Allyson Sanders, Director of Sales & Marketing Workforce Solutions KCTCS and Owner Operator of The Party Space Place, LLC and Part Owner Operator of Something Borrowed, LLC
  • Angela Settle, Executive Director of the Help Office of Owensboro
  • Beth Shepherd, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer for Wendell Foster’s Campus for Development Disabilities
  • Mackenzie Skaggs, Special Education Teacher for Daviess County Public Schools
  • Linda Wahl, Retired Building Stronger Families and Community Volunteer
  • Angel Welsh, Founder and Executive Director at My Sister’s Keeper Women & Children’s Homeless Shelter

“We love being able to celebrate the outstanding women in our community. We never tire of hearing their incredible stories and how beautifully they have impacted others in their own special ways. We also never tire of hearing young girls share their stories as speakers at the event,” said Girls Inc. of Owensboro-Daviess County CEO Tish Correa Osborne.

Girls Inc. has no role in who is nominated, nor in the selection process. Members of the community nominate individuals, and judges from outside the Owensboro area select the winner based on the anonymous nomination information. 

February 16, 2024 | 12:11 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like