OT hosting Sports Awards ceremony for Players of the Year; sponsorships available

April 23, 2024 | 12:11 am

Updated April 30, 2024 | 10:04 pm

OT Sports Awards

OT is excited to announce we’re hosting the Owensboro Times Sports Awards, a ceremony honoring high school athletes and coaches, on May 5. More than two dozen awards will be handed out for achievements in the 2023-24 seasons. Here’s a look at the finalists in each sport, plus information on how to sponsor an award.

The OT Sports Awards (The OTs) will be held in the Owensboro Health Regional Hospital auditorium.

Attendees must RSVP. All finalists (listed below) will be admitted free, while tickets for guests cost $10 each. Specific RSVP/ticket instructions are being sent to all finalists as well as their coaches on April 23. We ask that parents/families wishing to RSVP first check with the players/coaches, but if there are questions you can email [email protected].

Only teams participating in a KHSAA-governed sport are considered for the OTs, meaning club and travel teams are not eligible.

Owensboro Community & Technical College is the presenting sponsor for The OTs, with Owensboro Health serving as the Champion Sponsor. 

Also available are Gold Level Sports Award Sponsorships, where businesses can choose a specific category to sponsor. The sponsorship also includes recognition:

  • On our social media platforms with more than 60,000 followers
  • In stories on our website prior to the event 
  • During the Sports Award ceremony on May 5
  • In the Sports Award printed program
  • In our Sports Award post-ceremony coverage announcing the winners

Please contact Jana Boswell at jana.boswell@owensborotimes if your business is interested in Gold Level Sponsorships.

The finalists are as follows:

Football Offensive Player of the Year

  • Brady Atwell (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Tutt Carrico (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Evan Hampton (Owensboro)

Football Defensive Player of the Year

  • Tutt Carrico (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Vince Carrico (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Luke Floyd (Daviess County)

Football Special Teams Player of the Year

  • Tutt Carrico (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Eli Masterson (Apollo)
  • Peter Saang (Owensboro)

Volleyball Player of the Year 

  • Hannah Nash (Trinity High School, Whitesville)
  • Blair Riney (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Addie Travis (Owensboro)

Girls’ Soccer Player of the Year 

  • Sydney Lovett (Owensboro)
  • Kate McCain (Daviess County)
  • Ginny Young (Owensboro Catholic)

Boys’ Soccer Player of the Year

  • Sam Glover (Daviess County) 
  • Conner Johnson (Daviess County)
  • Brody Martin (Owensboro Catholic)

Girls’ Golfer of the Year

  • Baylie Billingsley (Daviess County High School
  • Mary Ann Lyons (Apollo)
  • Claire Reynolds (Daviess County)

Boys’ Golfer of the Year

  • Grant Broughton (Daviess County)
  • Trevor Cecil (Apollo)
  • Luke Estes (Owensboro Catholic)

Girls’ Cross Country Runner of the Year

  • Blakely Greer (Daviess County)
  • Peyton Reid (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Lucy Spaw (Daviess County) 

Boys’ Cross County Runner of the Year

  • Asher Alvey (Daviess County)
  • Emmitt Brock (Apollo)
  • Brayden Kaelin (Daviess County)

Girls’ Basketball Player of the Year

  • A’Lyrica Hughes (Owensboro)
  • Hailee Johnson (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Shalyn Sprinkles (Owensboro)

Boys’ Basketball Player of the Year 

  • Luke Beickman (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Jonathan Moss (Daviess County)
  • Gage Phelps (Daviess County)

Girls’ Wrestler of the Year

  • Lydia Gardner (Apollo)
  • Mayte Lopez (Apollo)
  • Kali Nichols (Daviess County)

Boys’ Wrestler of the Year

  • Patrick Glenn (Apollo)
  • Jake Ramsey (Apollo)
  • Jackson Stoner (Daviess County)

Diver of the Year

  • Olivia Esposito (Apollo)
  • Haiden Sands (Owensboro)
  • Georgia Warren (Owensboro)

Girls’ Swimmer of the Year

  • Ryleigh Bevil (Daviess County)
  • Bellah Bowman (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Ellie Girten (Daviess County)

Boys’ Swimmer of the Year 

  • Max Baur (Owensboro)
  • Emmitt Brock (Apollo)
  • Ethan Lippert (Owensboro)

Girls’ Bowler of the Year

  • Madison Emmick (Apollo)
  • Meredith Fischer (Owensboro Catholic)
  • Maddie Phelps (Daviess County)

Boys’ Bowler of the Year

  • Christian Miller (Owensboro)
  • Tristan Miller (Owensboro)
  • Charlie Roberts (Apollo)

Dance Team of the Year

  • Apollo
  • Daviess County
  • Owensboro
  • Owensboro Catholic

Cheer Team of the Year

  • Apollo
  • Daviess County
  • Owensboro

Coach of the Year

  • Regina Christensen (Owensboro bowling)
  • Courtney Johns (Apollo girls’ wrestling)
  • Kitty Jones (Daviess County cheer)
  • Jansen Locher (Owensboro girls’ basketball)
  • Jason Morris (Owensboro Catholic football)

Finalists for softball, baseball, boys’ and girls’ track and field, and boys’ and girls’ tennis will be announced soon. 

April 23, 2024 | 12:11 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like