Apollo’s Workman 4th, DC’s Harper 5th in state bowling

February 7, 2019 | 4:33 pm

Updated February 7, 2019 | 4:33 pm

Apollo’s Emma Workman finished fourth in the girls’ state bowling tournament, and Daviess County’s Briar Harper took fifth in the boys’ field. | Photos provided

A pair of local high school bowlers finished in the Top 5 of individual competition Thursday at the 2019 KHSAA State Bowling Championships.

Apollo’s Emma Workman finished fourth in the girls’ tournament, and Daviess County’s Briar Harper took fifth in the boys’ field.


Workman earned the No. 2 seed for the semifinals after three qualifying rounds totaling 654 pins. After the two additional semifinal games, Workman held the No. 3 seed for the stepladder bracket for the final four bowlers.

Workman lost 212-183 to No. 4 seed Mirena Combs, who went on to win the state championship.

Harper took the No. 7 seed for the semifinals after his three qualifying rounds totaled 661 pins. After two more games, Harper narrowly missed the cut to make the final four. His five-game total of 1,086 pins left him in fifth place, just behind the No. 4 seed who had 1,094 pins.

Also competing for the Apollo girls were Molly Statts (17th with rounds of 227, 169, 147) and Theresa Rickertsen (23rd, with rounds of 191, 155, 151).

The Daviess County unified team of Harper and Daniel Morris finished tied for 9th. After earning the No. 6 seed in qualifying, they lost by 10 pins to Montgomery County in the first round.

Apollo and Daviess County will both return to action Friday for the team competition. The Daviess County boys’ team won the Region 1 Tournament to earn their bid to state, while the Apollo girls’ finished as runner-up to advance. Both teams made it to the state championships last season.

Schedule of play
9:15 a.m. – Girls’ team competition
1 p.m. – Boys’ team competition

Rules of play:
• Teams will bowl one game with two teams of four bowlers each, dropping the low score on each lane.
• The six-bowler total will be used to seed the team into a bracket.
• The team will then bowl a seeded match against another school.
• A match will consist of Baker games, played best 3-out-of-5.
• The winner advances to the next round.
• Rounds will continue until a champion, runner-up and semifinalists are established.

Daviess County roster (Head coach: Byron Johnson)
Dakota Baird, Chase Cecil, Briar Harper, Braison Hayden, Daiden Hayden, Colton Keelin, Javen Keelin, Daniel Morris, Jon Royal, C. J. Snyder

Apollo roster (Head coach: Kerrie Gatton)
Laura Head, Haley Kost, Hannah Mills, Madelynn Napier, Rikki Overall, Theresa Rickertsen, Molly Statts, Emma Workman

February 7, 2019 | 4:33 pm

Share this Article

Other articles you may like