DCHS dance team wins national title for third year in a row

April 20, 2021 | 12:07 am

Updated April 19, 2021 | 10:09 pm

DCHS dance team

The Daviess County High School dance team is making a tradition out of winning national championships after winning one for the third year in a row Sunday.

The team won first place in the medium size Game Day category in the virtual National Dance Alliance competition. They also placed fifth in the Hip Hop category.

Last year, the team won first place in the small size Game Day category. In 2019, they won the national title in the Hip Hop category. 


“I am so proud of the team this year,” said coach Debbie Connor. “They’ve worked really hard. They are an incredible group of young ladies – talented, smart, strong, and they have an incredible work ethic. This year has been extremely challenging due to COVID and all the obstacles they have had to overcome. They stuck together and pushed through all the tough times.”

With virtual competition, teams submitted a routine to judges. The scores and rankings were then sent back to teams with the chance to fine-tune their routine to try to improve their score.

Already in first after the preliminary round, DCHS improved on their score to clinch the title.

Connor said it’s hard to believe they won again.

“To get the first one was already incredible, so to win three times in a row is mindblowing, especially with so many teams out there,” she said. “It takes a lot of hard work and dedication. We’ve had some great choreographers and really dedicated teams.”

The success has created interest in competitive dance among local youth, Connor said.

“Both the Daviess County and College View middle school teams have grown with the hopes of getting ready to go into the high school,” she said. “Our tryouts have been getting bigger with a lot better talent coming to us when they get to the high school level.”

With three titles now in tow, the team is looking to add to their growing collection.

“The sky’s the limit,” Connor said. “Maybe next year we can double-title.”

Members of this year’s team include Annie Powers (grade 9), Hannah Wallace (9), Macie Dunaway (9), Jordan Lee (10), Kaylee Goetz (11), Kyra Rowan (12), Hope Miles (12), Coach Kendal Connor, Coach Debbie Connor, Breanna Herrin (12), Katelyn Ahart (12), Terionna Inman (12), Lexie Coomes (11), Carley Durcholz (10), Mallory McClure (9), Jenna Rittmeyer (9).

April 20, 2021 | 12:07 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like

Discussion about this article