Kentucky homebuilders elect 2023 leadership, announce award winners and Emerging Leaders class

March 16, 2023 | 12:03 am

Updated March 15, 2023 | 12:18 pm

Photo provided

This is a paid release.

During their 2023 Winter Meeting in Lexington in late February, the Home Builders Association of Kentucky (HBAK) unveiled this year’s HBAK award winners, elected their senior officers and executive committee, and announced members of the new Emerging Leaders class.

“A healthy housing and building industry means more jobs and a stronger economy for Kentucky,” said HBAK CEO/Executive Vice President Anetha Sanford. “We were excited to bring together our industry experts from all corners of the Bluegrass State to share their valuable experience and insights with each other — and with decision makers in Frankfort — as we continue to partner in the pursuit of building a better Commonwealth together.”

Recipients of 2023 HBAK Excellence Awards, which recognize exceptional leadership and achievement in the Commonwealth’s housing and building industry, include:

  • Martin Conrad Builder Leadership Award:
    Chris Jones – J & J Construction (Pikeville)
  • Gilbert E. Kittle Associate Leadership Award:
    JP DeLaney – Shepherd Insurance (Louisville)
  • Bob Weiss Wisdom Award:
    Mike Kegley – B.O.L.D. Company (Union)

HBAK members elected the following individuals to serve as the organization’s 2023 senior officers:

  • Brian Miller – President
    Brian Miller Contracting (Scottsville)
  • Don Wirtzberger – President-Elect / Treasurer
    Sierra Design (Louisville)
  • Scott Welch – 2nd Vice President / Legislative Chair
    Welch Builders (Louisville)
  • JP DeLaney – Secretary / Associates Committee Chair
    Shepherd Insurance (Louisville)
  • Chris Anderson – Associate Vice President
    Sun Windows (Owensboro)

And members elected to serve as HBAK executive committee officers this year include:

  • Drew McLellan – Senior Officer Advisor: Builder
    Immediate Past President / National Association of Homebuilders (NAHB) Delegate
    McLellan Homes (Lexington)
  • Anita Napier – Executive Officers Council (EOC) Chair
    Builders Association of South Central Kentucky (Bowling Green)
  • Richard Bean – Investment Advisor
    Richard Bean Investment (Cape Coral, FL)
  • Billy Doelker – Senior Officer Advisor: Builder
    Key Homes LLC (Louisville)
  • Matt Purcell – Senior Officer Advisor: Associate
    Owensboro Insulators (Owensboro)
  • Mike Kegley – NAHB BUILD-PAC Trustee
    B.O.L.D. Company (Union)
  • Marshall Todd – NAHB State Representative
    Marshall Todd Builders (Nancy)
  • Tom Raver – NAHB Delegate: Associate
    Fireplace Distributors Inc. (Louisville)

The following six HBAK members were named to the 2023 Emerging Leaders class — a program focused on educating, engaging and empowering individuals in Kentucky’s housing and building industry to reach their potential and affect change at the state level:

  • Dave Allen – Latitude Builders (Elizabethtown)
  • Alex Blanton – 46Solutions (Lexington)
  • Jason Brown – Essex Builders (Elizabethtown)
  • Jessica Casebolt – Oddball Creative (Owensboro)
  • Austin Dillow – James Monroe Homes (Lexington)
  • Chris Jarnigan – Key Homes LLC (Buckner)

HBAK is comprised of 19 local associations located across the Commonwealth in: Bowling Green, Danville, Elizabethtown, Erlanger, Flatwoods, Frankfort, Hazard, Henderson, Hopkinsville, Lexington, Louisville, Marion, Madisonville, Olmstead, Owensboro, Paducah, Pikeville, Richmond, and Somerset.

To access additional information and resources from the Home Builders Association of Kentucky, please visit

March 16, 2023 | 12:03 am

Share this Article

Other articles you may like